APC Wins Bauchi Bye-election

APC NigeriaAPC

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressive Congress () winner of the Toro Federal Constituency bye-election, held on Saturday in State.

The candidate, Alhaji Yusuf Nuhu, defeated his only opponent, Shehu Umar, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmed Sarkin-Paggam, while announcing the result in Toro on Sunday, said Nuhu scored 27,337 votes to defeat Umar, who polled 18,235 votes.

Only the ruling and main opposition parties fielded candidates for the election.

According to the returning officer, a total of 41,532 votes were cast, out of which 40,552 were valid and 970 votes invalid.

Toro Federal Constituency seat became vacant when the member representing the constituency, Lawan Yahaya Gumau contested and won the Bauchi South Senate seat in a by-election held on Aug. 11.

The senatorial bye-election was held following the death of Sen. Ali Wakili, who represented Bauchi South in the Senate.

Read More Latest News and Updates HERE

Get free jobs and make dollars with bigger companies - APPLY HERE

Follow us on Twitter: @OkayNigeria.

Farouk Mohammed
the authorFarouk Mohammed
Chief Editor
Farouk Mohammed is a Senior Editor at Okay Nigeria ( He has been publishing for 5 years and focused more on Local/World News on

Leave a Reply