UK Warns Citizens Against Travelling to 16 Nigerian States (See Names)


Following footsteps of the United States, the United Kingdom High Commission in Nigeria has warned its citizens against travelling to 16 states.

The Foreign Commonwealth Office, in a travel advice on its website cautioned against all but essential travel to certain states in Nigeria.

Parts of the notice on the website read, ”The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) advise against all travel to:

  • Borno State
  • Yobe State
  • Adamawa State
  • Bauchi State
  • Gombe State
  • Kano city
  • riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Cross River States
  • within 20km of the border with Niger in Zamfara State

The FCO advise against all but essential travel to:

  • Kano State
  • Kaduna State
  • Jigawa State
  • Katsina State
  • Kogi State
  • within 20km of the border with Niger in Sokoto and Kebbi States
  • Jos City in Plateau State
  • Riyom and Barkin Ladi Local Government Areas of Plateau State
  • Non-riverine areas of Delta, Bayelsa and Rivers State
  • Abia State

Farouk Mohammed

Farouk Mohammed is a Head Editor at Okay Nigeria ( He has been publishing for 5 years and focused more on Local/World News on
Back to top button