PDP Candidate Wins Taraba House Of Assembly Bye-Election

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Hon. Garba Ajiya, was on Sunday declared winner of Saturday’s bye-election into Takum 1 State Constituency by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Ajiya polled 10,725 to defeat his closest opponent and the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Hon. Atem Ansho, who polled 3,268 votes.

Returning Officer for the election and Senior Lecturer with the Federal University Wukari, Dr. Ayuba Daniel, announced the result at the collation centre in Takum.

According to th returning officer who was flanked by the National Commissioner in charge of Borno Adamawa and Taraba, Ahmed Tijani, Taraba State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Baba Abba Yusuf and his Yobe State counterpart, Ahmad Makama, 73,183 voters registered in the constituency, but only 16,671 voters accredited and voted in the election.

Farouk Mohammed

Farouk Mohammed is a Head Editor at Okay Nigeria ( He has been publishing for 5 years and focused more on Local/World News on
Back to top button