Governor Ahmed Dissolves 16 LG Councils in Kwara

Abdulfatah Ahmed

Kwara state Governor on Friday approved the dissolution of the of the 16 local government councils in the state.


The councils are Asa, Baruten, Edu, Ekiti, Ifelodun, Ilorin East, Ilorin West, Ilorin South, Irepodun, Isin, Kaiama, Moro, Offa, Oke-Ero, Oyun and Pategi.

In a statement, Secretary to the state government, Alhaji Isiaka Gold said that the dissolution of the local government councils is contained in the Kwara State Legal Notices No.4-19 and is in exercise of the governor’s power conferred on him by section 18(5) (c) of the Kwara State Local Government Law (as amended) cap K33, Laws of Kwara State.

Alhaji Gold said that “the dissolution of the councils is with effect from today, 4th Day of November, 2016. As a result, all the affected public office holders including the chairmen, vice chairmen, councillors, secretaries to the local government councils and supervisors shall immediately vacate their offices and handover to their respective directors of personnel management (DPMs).”

He added that “Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed appreciates the contributions and support of the affected officers towards the development of the state and wishes them success in their future endeavours.”
The tenure of the council chairmen expires November 10, 2016.

Advertise with |  Send news and press releases to | Get daily news updates on Telegram on Google News

Back to top button