Funke Egbemode re-elected for second term as President of Nigerian Guild of Editors

Funke Egbemode, has been re-elected as President of Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) on Saturday.

Okay Nigeria understands that Egbemode was returned unopposed by members at the NGE 2019 Biennial Convention which happened at Airport Hotel in Ikeja, Lagos state.

Speaking after winning her re-election, Egbemode appreciated the members support for another term as president of the association:

“Everybody agreed that I, Funke Egbemode should serve a second term. While accepting to serve, I want to thank you for your trust.

“I will never forget or betray this trust.

“Although I have ideas, I promise that the next two years will be about what you want and what needs to be done and the integrity of the guild will be protected.”

Umaru Tudunwada, Mustapha Isa and Mary Atolagbe were also re-elected unopposed as deputy president, vice president (west) and general secretary respectively.

Also, Victoria Ibanga as treasurer, Ken Ugbechie as social/publicity secretary and Austeen Elewodalu as assistant general secretary all returned unopposed.

Five positions were contested, with Hajia Sani emerging vice president (north) while Samuel Egbala emerged vice president (east).

Gabriel Akinadewo, Steve Nwosu and Eze Anaba emerged as standing committee members (west).

Ngwoke Ngwoke and Freston Akpor emerged standing committee members (east) while Catherine Agbo and Husseina Ibrahim emerged standing committee members (north).

The election committee was presided over by veteran journalists and fellows of the guild, Ray Ekpu and Dupe Ajayi-Gbadebo.

Provost of the Nigerian Institute of Journalism, Gbemiga Ogunleye, was secretary of the electoral committee.

Advertise with |  Send news and press releases to | Get daily news updates on Telegram on Google News

Back to top button