FG declares June 12 public holiday to mark Democracy day

The Federal Government has declared June 12 as public holiday to mark this year’s Democracy Day celebration.

The Minister of Interior, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, made this known in a statement on Monday issued by the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Interior, Georgina Ehuriah.

According to the statement, Aregbesola as congratulating Nigerians for the entrenchment of democratic rule in the country.

The minister urged “Nigerians to continue to cherish the selfless efforts made to attain democracy”.

He reassured “Nigerians of the Federal Government’s commitment to battling the scourge of COVID-19 with the cooperation of all Nigerians”.

He emphasised the need for all Nigerians to stay safe by observing physical and social distancing, personal and respiratory hygiene, as well as other regulations issued by relevant authorities.

The former Osun State Governor also advised them to “take responsibility for stopping the spread of the virus”.

Back to top button