APC Barred From Kogi East, Central Senatorial Rerun Election


The All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kogi state has been barred from participating in the East and Central senatorial districts rerun election scheduled for February 20, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said.

INEC’s State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Mallam Halilu Pai, disclosed this yesterday in Lokoja, at a stakeholders’ meeting in preparation for the rerun elections scheduled to hold across 1,988 polling units in the state.

He explained that the exclusion of APC from the rerun election was in compliance with the dictates of the ruling of the court, which had particularly ordered that APC and its candidates should not be part of the rerun poll.

The APC is also excluded from participating in the reruns for Okene/Ogori-Magongo federal constituency, Ofu and Ankpa I State Assembly.
Meanwhile, all the political parties that took part in the 2015 general elections (APC inclusive) are expected to take part in the State Assembly rerun election for Dekina I (Biraidu) Dekina II (Okura) and Idah State Constituency.

Pai said the rerun election will hold in 14 local government areas of Adavi,Ajaokuta, Ankpa, Bassa, Dekina, Ibaji, Idah, Igalamela-Odolu, Ofu, Ogori-Magongo, Okehi, Okene, Olamaboro and Omala with a total of 1037695 registered voters.

Advertise with Okay.ng |  Send news and press releases to Okay.ng | Get daily news updates on Telegram
Okay.ng on Google News

Back to top button