30 Newly Appointed Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN) [Names]

The Chief Justice of Nigeria Justice (CJN), Walter Onnoghen on Monday swore in 30 newly-appointed Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN).

Justice Onnoghen inaugurated the newly appointed SANs during the special court session of the Supreme Court to mark the commencement of the 2018/2019 Legal Year at the Supreme Court complex in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

That thirty-one lawyers were initially nominated for the conferment of the rank, but the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee at its emergency meeting held on September 22 withdrew the nomination of Ikhide Ehighilua following an allegation that he engaged in abuse of court process.

The 30 SANs who were inaugurated on Monday included Attorneys-General of Lagos and Ondo states, Adeniji Kazeem and Adekola Olawoye, respectively.

Others are Adeyinka Olumide-Fusika; Director-General of the Nigerian Law School, Prof. Isa Chiroma, the Vice-Chancellor of the Lagos State University, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun; the National Coordinator of the Legal Defence and Assistance Project, Mr Chinonye Obiagwu, and a prominent advocate, Mr Olalekan Ojo.

Also on the list was Olabode Olanipekun, a son of a former President of the Nigerian Bar Association, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN). The only female among the new SANs was Prof. Oluyemisi Bamgbose.

Oba Abuchi, Essien Udom, Metong Urombo, Prof. Wahab Egbewole, George Igbokwe, Olubowale Taiwo, Oluwole Iyamu, Adekola Olawoye, Stephen Adehi, Oluseun Akinbiyi, Emmanuel Achukwu, Kenneth Ahia, Louis Alozie, and Wole Agunbiade also made the list.

The rest were Olayode Delano, Taminu Inuwa, Sonny Wogu, Prof. Offorinze Amucheazi, Adewale Atake, Prof. Muhammed Akanbi, Cosmas Enweluzo and Ishaka Mudi.

Read More News HERE

Advertise with Okay.ng |  Send news and press releases to Okay.ng | Get daily news updates on Telegram
Okay.ng on Google News

Back to top button