El-rufai orders all political appointees to resign, gives deadline

Governor of state has ordered that all political appointees in his cabinet should submit their resignation letter before Tuesday, April 30, 2019.

Samuel Aruwan, spokesman of the governor, disclosed this in a statement made available to Okay Nigeria on Tuesday.

He also revealed that all resigning appointees must submit their letter attaching a signed handover note on behalf of the ministries, departments and agencies or office to which he or she had been appointed.

The political appointees were also asked to properly addressed to the principal private secretary in their resignation letter.

The statement reads, “The governor will exercise his constitutional prerogative to decide on re-appointments while giving the state ministry of finance adequate time to compute severance payments and reconcile any liabilities.”

“As he constitutes the team that will assist him in his second-term, the governor said he expects the process to be enriched by the handover notes from the political appointees, and the report of the Transition Committee headed by the Deputy Governor-elect, Dr. Hadiza Sabuwa Balarabe.”

“The following appointees are expected to comply with the directive: All Commissioners in the State Executive Council, All Permanent Secretaries, Special Advisers, Directors-General, Executive Secretaries, Managing Directors, General Managers and other Heads of Agencies, Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants and Technical Assistants to the Governor, other than the Kashim Ibrahim Fellows.

“Excluded from compliance with this directive are full-time Commissioners of certain State Executive bodies who retain their tenured appointments in the following agencies: Fiscal Responsibility Commission; Civil Service Commission; Judicial Service Commission; Assembly Service Commission; The State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM); The Peace Commission; Public Procurement Authority, and Water Regulatory Authority.

“Due to recent adjustments in roles within the government, the occupants of and recent appointees into the following offices are also exempted from the directive to resign: Commissioner of Finance; Principal Private Secretary; Accountant-General; Special Adviser; Intergovernmental Relations
Managing Director; Kaduna Markets Development Company; Managing Director, Kaduna Investment and Finance Company, and any other political appointee sworn-in or appointed to their current role within the last six months.”

Meanwhile, El-rufai expressed his gratitude to all the resigning political appointees for their contributions and service to the state.


Advertise with Okay.ng |  Send news and press releases to Okay.ng
okay ng banner google news - El-rufai orders all political appointees to resign, gives deadline

Muhammad A. Aliyu

Muhammad Ameer Aliyu, is a prolific journalist who joined Okay Nigeria in 2015 with the aim staying committed to bringing more positive growth to the digital news platform. He is the Senior editor at Okay Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button