Adamawa Assembly Impeach Emmanuel Tsamdu As Deputy Speaker

Emmanuel Tsamdu, the Deputy Speaker of Adamawa State House of Assembly has been impeached along-side other members.

The Assembly also sacked the Majority Leader, Hassan Mamman Barguma (Hong Constituency); Deputy Majority Leader, Abubakar Isa (Shelleng Constituency); and Deputy Chief Whip, Abdullahi Nyapak (Verre Constituency) during a rare sitting on Saturday.

The Assembly has now elected Lumsabani Dilli (Demsa Constituency) as the Deputy Speaker, while Hayatu Mohammed Atiku (Uba-Gaya) was elected Majority Leader to replace his kinsman from Hong.

Others elected as principal officers are Safiyanu Aminu Aliyu (Song Constituency) as Deputy Chief Whip and Sani Shehu (Mubi North Constituency) as Deputy Majority Leader.

In another turn, Tsamdu said “13 people cannot impeach me” as he rejected his impeachment.

The Assembly is made up of 25 members, and only 13 members carried out the impeachment.

Back to top button